• Sale
  • Regular price $9.99 CAD


ISBN13: 9780800719869
ISBN: 0800719867
UPC: 000000984339
Vendor Name: Baker Publishing Group
Released: Jan 02, 2013
Language: English
Group: Books for Adults
Format: Paperback
Category: Fiction
Edition: Reprinted
Series: The Midwives


Esther Cherrett comes from a proud line of midwives and was trained by her mother to take over the family calling. But when a scandal threatens all she holds dear, Esther takes a position as a teacher in the western mountains of Virginia instead. There she finds herself in the midst of a deadly family feud and courted by two men on opposite sides of the conflict. When it seems as though her past has followed her all the way into the mountains, all she wants is to run away again.

In this gripping story of trust, deception, and bittersweet loss, a young woman learns the true meaning of choices of the heart. 

Author/Contributor Bio: 

Laurie Alice Eakes is the author of Lady in the MistHeart's Safe PassageA Necessary DeceptionA Flight of Fancy, and several other novels. She won a National Readers Choice Award for Best Regency in 2007 for Family Guardian. Laurie Alice writes full-time from her home in Texas, where she lives with her husband and sundry dogs and cats.